Roller Boogie with my Babies

FullSizeRender (17)

I found my old rollerblades today!

I don’t know who was more excited by the discovery, though – me or my kids. Well, they were pretty excited until they realized that mom’s pretty good on her blades and she can skate pretty damn fast.

Then, all they wanted was for me to skate and drag them along. Fun for them. Not so fun for my arms. But, I’ll admit, it was a fairly decent workout.

Anyway, I had given them to my firstborn when she first went off to college and I was sure I would never see them again.

But after seeing my littles skating around today, I decided to go check the eldest’s room and after rifling through all kinds of crap, I found them!

My teal, Katarina Allure Ultra Wheels inline skates. Man, I loved those things.

I vividly remember the day I bought them. It was the 90s and they were all the rage. I quickly realized, however, that I did not know how to operate those puppies. I also, for some reason, decided it would be a great idea to go out later that night to a happening part of town to meet up with some friends whom I’d also convinced it would be fun to skate. In the Grove. On a Saturday night.

And let’s not forget the part about how we were meeting up at a bar. At which we were planning to drink.

So I wisely decided that I needed to practice and for 6 or so hours, I skated up and down the street where I lived. When I was fairly confident I had mastered the whole rollerblading thing, I headed to the bar where I’m happy to report that aside from a few extremely embarrassing tumbles, I made it out relatively unscathed.

When I came across those same skates today, I was so excited but also rather saddened by the realization that my rollerblades are legit “vintage.”

But, they still work like a charm and I plan to put them back to use. If my daughter doesn’t try and jack them from me.

Did or do you have rollerblades? I’d love to know if you still use them. Leave a comment below!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

