Why do They Insist on Playing Loud, Crappy Music at Restaurants?

loud music

Before anyone calls me old, let me just preface this by saying that I’ve NEVER liked loud music. So it’s not about being old.

But seriously, why??

I can understand playing loud music at a concert. Or even at a club. But a bar or a restaurant is not the right venue for it.

Most people go out to these establishments accompanied by others. Because in addition to eating and drinking, you presumably want to also have a conversation.

And I don’t know about you, but I do not want to yell into someone’s ear. Or get home feeling like I’ve smoked a carton of cigarettes because my throat is sore and hoarse from trying to speak to the person next to me.

And, to add insult to injury, it’s never good music they play. Not anything you can sing or dance to. It’s just noise. Loud, annoying, noise.

So, please, if you own or manage a restaurant or bar, cut that shit out.

By all means, play music. I’m not a music nazi. But make sure it’s good. And for the love of all that is holy, keep it at a normal decibel level.

One whereby people can carry on conversations without incurring injury to their vocal chords.

How do you feel about blaring noise while you’re trying to have a conversation at a restaurant or bar? Leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

