The Morning Routine

FullSizeRender (16)

It seems that everywhere I turn lately, there’s an article about the importance of a morning routine. They extol the virtues of waking up early and making time for meditation, journaling and exercise.

Because if you start your mornings the right way, you’ll be poised to conquer the world. Ok, so maybe not world. But at least your day.

I realized that for so many years, I did have a routine. But it was more out of necessity and habit than an actual, conscious “routine.”

The alarm would wake me up and I’d be off to the races. I’d awake with a start, heart pounding. I’d run to the bathroom and turn on the faucet, waiting for the water to heat and in the meantime, I’d check all my social mediums.

Because, you know, ensuring that my posts were liked enough and creeping on my friends’ lives is a vital function first thing. Make no mistake, however. This wasn’t a leisurely stalk but rather a frantic sprint through scroll-land.

Then I’d jump in the shower, dry off, throw on one of the “uniform” dresses I had on rotation and run to the kitchen to get kids up and make coffee, smoothies and lunches. Hair soaking and face bare, I’d shriek at my daughter to get in the car and I’d break several traffic laws to get to the train in a timely manner.

Needless to say, I was harried and harassed and felt like I had already put in a full day by the time I got to my corporate job.

Nobody was getting the best me.

When I finally got the opportunity to slow things down, I decided I was going to make the most of it and consciously engage in a proper morning routine. I’m still tweaking the order of things but the one non-negotiable is my “fire water.”

It’s actually more of a tea. But “fire tea” doesn’t have the same ring to it.

It’s a combination of things that deliver a host of health benefits. That I drink from a glass from a brewery.

Lemon ACV Honey Cayenne
Good source of vitamin C Helps heartburn and acid reflux Helps prevent cancer and heart disease Stimulates circulation/opens capillaries
Improves skin Promotes healthy cholesterol Reduces ulcers and other gastrointestinal disorders Eliminates acidity
Supports weight loss Supports weight loss Anti-bacterial and anti-fungal Regulates blood sugar
Aids digestion Promotes healthy blood sugar Increases athletic performance Aids in digestion and eliminates bacteria and toxins
Freshens breath Has antioxidant properties Reduces cough and throat irritation  
Helps prevent kidney stones Improves nutrient absorption Helps regulate blood sugar  
    Heals wounds and burns

It’s a fairly simple concoction for which I’ll share the recipe below. I even have small containers so I can take all of it with me when I travel. Because if I don’t start my day like that, I feel off. And everyone suffers.

I’ll talk about the other elements I’ve been incorporating into my morning routine at a later date..once I’ve had a chance to test them out and see if they’re actually making a difference.

In the meantime, enjoy the recipe below. And please, share any morning routines you swear by.

Fire Water Recipe:
1/2     glass filtered room temp water
1/2     fresh squeezed lemon
2tb    Bragg’s apple cider vinegar
1tp     organic honey
1/2     glass hot water
dash of cayenne

*Please note that it’s not a good idea to chug this if you’re in a hurry. Trust me on this.

 

Leave a Reply

