You’re the One that I Want, Ooh, ooh, ooh..Honey!

grease

Tonight, we enjoyed another free movie night at the park.

But this time, we invited some friends along. The kids got to hang out with someone else their age, and the growed ups got to drink wine, talk shit and sing along to Grease.


Man, I loved that movie as a kid. I had such a crush on Danny Zuko. But also on Kenickie.

I wanted to be a Pink Lady. So hard.

That was before I knew about Travolta’s bizarre entanglement with Scientology. Before I became aware of Conaway’s drug-addled life. Before Newton-John’s boyfriend disappeared.

It was a time of innocence. And hope. And rebellion. And music.

God, that soundtrack. I totally had the double LP. Still do, actually. I know all the songs. I love them still.

I’ve never been much of a movie person. I can’t still that long. But that movie…I must have seen it at least 10 times at the theatre. And countless times thereafter.

I know kids younger than me loved Michelle Pfeiffer and Grease 2. But there’s just no comparison.

Anyway, I wish the kids had actually been capable of sitting still long enough to listen to some of the tunes the adults were embarrassingly belting out.

But, at least they had fun running around. And we had fun planning our future lives at our commune in North Carolina. Don’t ask me how we got there.

Must have been the nostalgia for simpler days.

Or it might have  been the wine.

Do you have any fond memories of your experience with Grease? Leave a comment below!

 

Leave a Reply

