Why I Made the Switchel

fullsizerender-9

See what I did there? Probably not. Since you likely don’t have an inkling what Switchel is.

So here’s the deal.

At some point when I was a kid, I started becoming conscious of nutrition. It didn’t happen overnight, mind you. I still ate cereal and a shit ton of white rice. And let’s not forget my favorite Slurpee diet. Yes. It’s exactly what you’re thinking. I thought it was a brilliant idea to not eat and only consume Slurpees.

I clearly didn’t learn anything about good nutrition at home. My mother didn’t like to cook and my father only made arroz con pollo or paella on Sundays. So my sister and I pretty much grew up eating Kraft mac n’ cheese and a whole lotta fast food.

So I’m not sure when or how it happened that I got into learning about healthier food options and supplements, etc.

Because to this day, when my mom comes to my house, she laments that there’s nothing to eat. You know, because I don’t have junk food or soda here. When I tell her I have plenty of stuff, like organic fruits and veggies, she rolls her eyes and makes gagging sounds.

All of this to say that I’m always interested in learning something new about how to improve mine and my family’s eating habits and health.

For instance, every morning, I start my day with warm lemon water with a couple tablespoons of apple cider vinegar, a teaspoon of honey and a dash of cayenne. I don’t know that it really does anything. But it makes me feel good to start my mornings that way.

I was an early adopter of Kombucha. Especially when I learned there was alcohol in it 😉

So when I heard about this “new” drink called Switchel, I had to learn more about it. Turns out it’s not new at all. It’s actually been around for quite some time. It’s supposed to be a healthy alternative to energy drinks. And it’s super easy to make.

It’s made from apple cider vinegar, fresh ginger, maple syrup and water and is supposed to help reduce inflammation and give you an electrolyte boost. And because it’s made with apple cider vinegar, you also reap its benefits that include healing compounds like potassium, magnesium and probiotics. It also helps to balance your body’s pH levels and, as a liver and lymphatic tonic, detoxes your body.

Oh, and you can totally add liquor to it and still call it healthy. At least I do.

The best part? My husband actually liked it. And so did my kids. I call it a win.

Have you ever tried Switchel? What has been your experience with it? Leave a comment below!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

