The Resolutions Check-In

new-year-resolutions-12-30

I don’t often make New Year’s resolutions. Well, except that one year I resolved to get to level 200 in Candy Crush. #nailedit

And this year wasn’t much different. I vowed I wasn’t going to set resolutions, per se. I, was, however, going to try to do more good stuff. And try to do less bad stuff.

Like, try to eat more fruits and veggies and less bread and other processed shit. And try not to drink a bottle of wine every night.

I’m also trying to write, play brain training games, meditate and get some type of exercise every day without obsessing. You know, stuff like that.

But as I’ve already mentioned, I suffer from OCD. And I need to quantify and track everything or it didn’t happen. I also get off on seeing streaks.

So for the brain training, I’ve got this cool app called elevate. Every morning, I open the app and complete the day’s prescribed games. I’m both happy and annoyed to report that I’m on a 33 day streak. Because I didn’t start on the first. And that shit is driving me crazy.

The writing usually takes place on this blog. You can go back and count or I could save you the trouble of pretending like you might ever do that. I started on January 2nd and so far have only skipped one day – but I made up for it with a two-fer the next day.

My meditation I’m tracking on an app called Insight Timer, on which I’m currently enjoying a 39 day streak – again because I started on January 2.

And lastly, I track my workouts on my Fitbit. I started on January 2nd and have only skipped one day so far – because I had the bubonic plague or something. This one is proving the toughest of all because I’ve been trying really hard to not dwell over how much time I’m spending working out. And because I haven’t been running. At all. Which is so weird for me.

But the way I look at it is this: if I’m only going to work out for 20 or 30 minutes, I would rather spend that time doing some type of strength/HIIT training. I figure I’m getting more bang that way.

Anyway, I hadn’t previously shared this with anyone so now that it’s out there, I suppose I’m like accountable or something.

Now, I don’t know if this is all for naught or if I’m deriving some actual benefit from any of it. But I’d like to think so. And I’ll keep you posted on my progress along the way.

Did you make any resolutions this year? How’s that working out for you? Leave a comment below!

 

Leave a Reply

