Baths: The Antithesis of Relaxation

For the life of me, I can’t understand why people like to take baths.

I know. I know.

You say it’s relaxing. You like soaking in the bubbles. You’ve bedecked the tub with candles and you turn the down lights. You may even listen to soft music.

Or you’ve gotten yourself one of those handy dandy little basket contraptions that holds a book. Or your wine.

But, let’s face it, at the end of the day, you’re just stewing in your own filth.

Unless you shower first. But then, what’s the point?

You also have to clean the crap out of it. Often.

I have small children that like to shower in my bathroom. I know what they do in the there. You couldn’t pay me enough to lie in that cesspool.

Also, seems to me you’re creating a dangerous fire hazard with all those unattended candles.

I mean, the way I see it, the bathroom is a place you go to for elimination. You leave things behind and you get on with your life.

You don’t marinate in them.

And yes, I’ve tried. At some fancy hotel even. I filled the tub with luxurious bubbles. Dimmed the lights. Turned on the jets. Forced myself to sit there and enjoy it.

Instead, the jets created more bubbles than I intended. I couldn’t figure out how to turn them off or drain the tub. The bathtub overflowed as I attempted, unsuccessfully, to scoop them out into the sink. It was a hot mess.

I can honestly tell you I did NOT feel relaxed. If anything, I felt like Lucy.

What’s your stance on baths? Leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

