Remind me…When Was America Great?

I’m no history expert but I’m legitimately confused by what people mean when they say they want America to be great again.

Is it the time when all the immigrants first got here and killed the people that were already here and took their land?

Or the time when we thought it was totally cool to like steal other humans from their countries and own them like property, denying them basic rights and treating them worse than we treat our animals? And seriously so many other atrocities that I won’t get into now.

Or the time when women couldn’t get an education or vote or run marathons or decide what to do with their own motherfucking bodies or even get a credit card in their own name?

Or the time when people weren’t free to love whomever they chose to love and had to hide it from everyone and couldn’t marry or have the same rights that the rest of us had?

Or the time when Christianity was the only religion that made you a decent person or endowed you with any real morals?

Or the times we thought it a great idea to invade other countries to take their natural resources and claim them as our own?

Or when we made laws stating that girls could be married as young as 12 years-old because some guy had raped and impregnated them?

Or create the law that says I can’t have anal sex with my husband?

So basically when white guys were in control. Got it.

I could go on. But I think I’ve made my point.

I don’t know. None of that seems very “great” to me. So I’m not really sure what the people who want to “make American great again” actually want to accomplish.

Yes, I guess I have to begrudgingly admit that we’ve come a long way. And yes, this country does offer opportunities that many others don’t. And I am grateful to have been born American and enjoy the freedoms we often take for granted.

But I sure as shit would never want to go back to any of that. As they say in Spanish, “pa tras ni pa cojer impulso.” (Never move backwards, not even to gain momentum.)

I believe a better mantra for our country would be “Continue to Make America Better.” Or something along those lines. Now that’s an ideal I can stand behind.

Onward and Upward!

 

Leave a Reply

