Beating Procrastination & Overwhelm: Day 7

Imperfection Action is Better Than No Action

ahh-procrastination

I struggle with this daily. Because like so many others, I consider myself a perfectionist. Which, of course, is probably just a crutch to keep me from accomplishing things because of an underlying fear of failure. Or of success. Of being judged. Of not being liked.

Procrastination = Fear

To illustrate how debilitating this trait can be…I’ve actually missed weddings because I couldn’t get my hair into a perfect ponytail. As if all those people attending the wedding were even going to notice that I had a few hairs that refused to lie flat. Never mind that they weren’t even there to see me.

Luckily, for my own sanity, I’ve relaxed my relentlessly exacting standards for my hair. But I still cling to this perfectionism when it comes to other areas of my life. And this has resulted in a classic case of inaction due to fear. It’s time to move forward, fear be damned.

My Action Plan

So for the next 30 days, I will write. Imperfectly. And distance myself from the outcome. Whether or not people read what I write. Or like what they read. That’s not my concern. The only thing I’m holding myself accountable for is to sit and produce something.

But if someone DID happen to read this, I’d love to know: Do you find yourself putting stuff off because you feel overwhelmed or fearful? Share a comment below 🙂

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 7

10dbc-badge

2 thoughts on “Beating Procrastination & Overwhelm: Day 7

  1. Shanna says:

    GET. OUT. OF. MY. HEAD.
    Procrastination, but it’s really fear of stupid things. For instance, I tried out this Bullet-Journal thing everyone has been pinning on Pinterest (that’s an entirely separate discussion – that’s my go-to to get ideas for things I’m not going to do when I should be doing the things I need to do hide-out.) I can’t put that thing together, but I know I will be annoyed by the layout because it wasn’t thoroughly thought out and played out properly, than pages will be out of order and I’ll become annoyed at the entire thing…. let’s remember they are suppose to be messy and a go-to place to get all the crap outta your head and down on paper so you don’t feel so overwhelmed. FAIL FAIL FAIL! **sigh**

    Like

    • elev8it says:

      yes! the pesky perfectionism keeps us from doing things. I’ve started journals but then didn’t have my journal when I wanted it so I wrote on another paper and then stapled it to the journal in the spot where it was supposed to go. Or worse, I’ve re-written the entire entry into the right journal so the pages wouldn’t be mismatched. But you can’t be hard on yourself. You wouldn’t let anyone else speak to you that way. Try to be gentle and accepting. Just observe and move on.

      Like

Leave a Reply

